Meet the Board: Angel Planells

This is the latest post in our “Meet the Board” series. Each Monday, we’ll feature one of our 2017-18 board members, not stopping until we run out of board members (in late January).


Angel Planells, MS, RDN
President

Angel PlanellsI’m a clinical dietitian with the Home Based Primary Care program at VA Puget Sound, and owner of ACP Nutrition, a private practice and consulting firm. I am currently serving as a media spokesperson for the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics, and also am the president-elect for the Washington State Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics. In 2016, I received multiple accolades: Today’s Dietitian TD10 for 2016 (with Chris Vogliano, legislative chair), Clinical Nutrition Practice award from the Veterans Health Administration, and Outstanding Dietitian of the year for Washington State. I’ve coached youth soccer for the past 18 years and am currently the development director at Emerald City Football Club. My family (wife – Danielle, son – Matteo (8), and daughter – Mina (4)) and I have enjoyed residing in the Emerald City after moving from the Big Apple in 2011. Here’s more about me:

Favorite meal: I have many favorite foods, but I think my favorite is Korean BBQ. The flavors are delicious and you just want to keep eating. Rice, lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, Kimchi, and grilled kalbi – I’m salivating thinking about it.

Korean BBQ

Favorite form of physical activity: I really enjoy hiking with my wife, kids, and dog. I wish we could do it more often (with our hectic schedules and lifestyles), but when we have free time, you will usually catch us somewhere in the mountains or along the water hiking.

Hiking buddies

Favorite travel destination: I enjoy traveling so this is going to be difficult to pinpoint my favorite travel destination. In the states, it’s going to be funny that we live here and I enjoy visiting the four corners of the country – I love Maine for it’s beauty, I love California for the diversity in landscapes, and I love Miami because it was my favorite place to visit as a kid. Internationally, I love going to Switzerland for the sights, the sounds, and the double and triple cream.

Favorite food city: I am going to have to pick 2 cities as my favorite…

  • New Orleans, LA. My birthplace and childhood home – I love the diversity of tastes and flavors. Many people try to replicate it but they can’t.
  • New York City. I lived here for 9 years, and it truly is the crossroads of the world. So many options, and so little time.

Wedding day in NOLA

Favorite hobby: I have coached soccer for 19 years (boys and girls, from 3 years old up to college Division I players.) I was blessed to have some great coaches, and feel this is a great way to stay connected and give back. Amazingly, some of the kids I coached now have their own kids. I also am proud that a number of my former players have played in college, on the US Youth national team, or playing professionally in the United States or overseas.

Something most people don’t know about me: I began my college career studying chemical engineering and had a scholarship and internship through Texaco. I really enjoyed it, but did not like the fact that I was getting intimate with a computer or calculator versus talking with a real person. After meeting the chair of the Exercise & Sports Sciences department, I immediately switched majors and began working on a dual degree in exercise & sports sciences and psychology as I wanted to pursue a Ph.D. in sports psychology. I chose nutrition as a master’s because my mentor advised me to choose something to complement the sports and psychology, and I chose nutrition. 18 years later, I don’t regret my decision.